Welcome To 2017

Happy New Year, readers! While this blog’s been in existence for a while, it’s only the second new year since I resurrected it and started writing semi-regular reviews, so it still feels somewhat special.

2016 hasn’t been a bad year in terms of book reviews, even if it’s had its issues in pretty much every other aspect of life, both on a personal and on a global level. I’ve read 329 books this year, according to Goodreads, and reviewed a fair few of them here — though far from all of them. This is a not-so-subtle reminder that if you want to see what else I’m reading, you can add me on Goodreads and see the rubbish two-line reviews I write in the middle of the night.

weight-lifting

“Weight lifting” (after YALC 2016)

I feel like I’ve managed to establish myself a bit as a reviewer, and while this book still has a relatively small following, that’s okay by me. If nothing else, these reviews help me remember what I thought of a book I read a while back and have since forgotten, and with my memory that’s a valuable resource.

In preparation to start the whole thing over again for 2017, I’ve been doing a bit of housekeeping on the blog, including updating the ‘Review Archives‘ page, which was a bit out of date. You should now find there are links there to every review I’ve written since resurrecting this blog in August 2015.

Pretty soon that page will become a bit unmanageable and I’ll have to think of a better way of organising it, but in the meantime, you should be able to find what you’re looking for. Ctrl + F is your friend if you don’t want to scroll through the whole thing.

The plan for this year is relatively similar to last year’s, in that I intend to keep posting book reviews on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. Obviously, it’s not always possible to post three times a week every week, so at times they’ll be less frequent, but I’ll try to stick to those days just for consistency’s sake. I’ve been scheduling them at 9am, for no particular reason other than that it seems tidy, and I don’t see any reason to change that for the new year.

All my reviews are scheduled in advance, but I check in pretty much every day to look at my stats, and I get notifications to my phone, so I’ll always try and respond to comments as quickly as possible. Just because I didn’t write my posts that day, in other words, doesn’t mean I’m not around. ๐Ÿ™‚

So far, I’ve kept this blog as a place solely for book reviews, and all my other blogging activity has been happening at Miriam Joy Writes. While that will remain the home for almost all my blog writing, I’m wondering if it might interest people if this blog was a tiny bit more varied, perhaps with other bookish material. However, I sort of like it as a review archive and nothing else, too. So I’d welcome your thoughts on that! Let me know in the comments if you’ve got any particularly strong opinions on that front.

I think that’s everything I’ve got to say, except thank you for reading so far and I look forward to spending 2017 with you. May there be many more good books! The first reviews you’ll see here in the new year are books I actually read in late 2016, but since many of them are new releases due to come out in January, it seemed appropriate to save them until now.

So I’d better get on with that! Again, let me wish you a happy new year, and if you have any thoughts on how this blog works and whether you want me to make any changes, please do leave them in the comments and I’ll do my best to take your thoughts into account.

nellies-claws

For example, if you think there should be more cat pictures, I agree with you.

6 thoughts on “Welcome To 2017

  1. Liam @ Hey Ashers! says:

    Your productivity is both awe-inspiring and very suspicious. What magic are you working to be able to read so much? Can you teach me?

    Oh, I haven’t paid any attention to your main blog, but I should.

    It seem pretty commonly accepted that reviews are the posts that receive the least attention on book blogs (which baffles me, really). Memes and receive significantly more traffic, and discussion posts tend to do better as well. If you do decide you want to gain more of a following, joining a weekly or monthly meme group would do the trick. But you probably already know all this, I’m betting.

    Personally, I’m here for your reviews, but I’ll happily read whatever you end up posting!

    Happy new year!

    • Miriam Joy says:

      Thanks for commenting — I see your ‘likes’ on nearly all my reviews and I appreciate them. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I know that reviews do tend to be less popular. I guess it’s because people are only interested in them if they’ve already heard of the book or are thinking of reading it, at least in general. It’s part of the reason I decided to keep them separate from my main blog, to be honest, but maybe I should think about doing some book tags or memes here to add some variety.

      To be honest, last year I read so much because my health was very poor and I spent a lot of time in bed, not really feeling up to doing much else. The healthier I am, the less time I spend reading — that’s how it usually works! Except at the moment, because I’ve been too ill to read at all for the last few days ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

      • Liam @ Hey Ashers! says:

        Aw, I’m sorry for not commenting more! Pretty much all I can ever think to say is some variation of “I haven’t heard of this book before, but your review is great, and maybe I’ll add the book to my TBR list,” which isn’t the most engaging or worthwhile comment to leave. I hate posting boilerplate comments.

        Variety certainly wouldn’t be a bad thing. I’d especially be interested in any memes or discussions that prompt you to highlight different aspects of the LGBTQIA+ books you read. I love your Unbury Your Queers shelf, but reading longer-form lists of, uh, your favorite villains/character arcs/fantasies/whatever would be *amazing.* You’re actually my primary source for potentially worthwhile LGBTQIA+ books, which I’m eternally starved for.

        Oh, man, I’m sorry you’ve been so ill. That’s absolutely miserable, and I hope you start recovering ASAP. And as much as I love and appreciate your reviews, I hope that 2017 is an all-around healthier year for you, and you feel up to doing more than just read. My fingers are crossed!

      • Miriam Joy says:

        I’ll bear all that in mind! I’ve read a ton of queer books this year (to the point where I can now actually be discerning about them and don’t have to like things just because they’re queer, which is nice), mostly thanks to NetGalley — I find them hard to come across via Amazon etc where it’s really hard to know what’s actually good and what’s basically just erotica, which isn’t my thing at all. I can’t guarantee I’ll be able to write anything of the sort you’re describing, but I’ll think about it. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Liam @ Hey Ashers! says:

        Yes, I’d like to be in your position already. I don’t even bother with Amazon; erotica’s not my jam either. I think I’ll follow your example and start focusing more on NetGalley. Thanks for the tip!

        Even if you don’t change a thing about your blog, I’ll continue to be a happy and grateful reader. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

