A Scheduling Note

I usually just let missed review days go by and catch up when I can, but I think I’m going to have a few in a row here, so I figured a note was a good idea. After having already missed Friday’s post, I fear there will no post tomorrow (Monday) or Wednesday — though the latter will depend on how promptly The Raven King is delivered, whether I finish reading it on Tuesday (release day) and whether I feel up to writing a review straight away.

Due to mental health reasons I haven’t actually finished a book since … Tuesday? Wednesday? of last week, and so I haven’t been able to write any reviews. I think my next one will be of TRK, so that will all depend on timings. It should be up by Friday at the latest, so I hope you don’t miss me too much in the meantime and I’ll see you back here shortly.

Hopefully, I’ll soon be in a position to schedule reviews further in advance and won’t be dependent on reading constantly to be able to write them in time. My problem lately has been that I keep reading sequels, and I don’t tend to review those except if they’re a much-anticipated addition to a popular series (like The Raven King), so I read lots of books without writing lots of reviews.

However, I don’t like being right up to the deadline all the time and constantly having to write reviews late at night the day before they’re due to post, which means I’m going to try and step back and write a handful to give myself some breathing room, even if I have to post fewer at first to allow me to do that.

If not, I may need to reduce the number of times per week I post, which would be a shame, but I don’t want reviewing to become stressful as I’m not very good with stress.

See you Friday, if not before.

7 thoughts on “A Scheduling Note

  1. Hey Ashers! says:

    Your health is significantly more important than a regularly-updated blog–at least in my opinion, which counts for, uh, nothing. Take care of yourself, and we your readers will occupy ourselves in the meantime.

    I’m right there with you on the need to have posts written well in advance; I get some serious anxiety when I have less than two months’ worth of book reviews and two weeks’ worth of read-along posts written and ready to go.

    Hope you can create a nice buffer for yourself, and that TRK turns out to be a glorious conclusion to the series. =)

    • Miriam Joy says:

      Thanks. I never schedule on my other blog, just write as and when I have something to say, so maintaining this blog has been a very different experience so far. But I need to get to grips with it (and with my life — so many unread emails, so much left abandoned).

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Heh, thanks. Definitely no Raven King review tomorrow — my pre-ordered copy didn’t come today. Apparently Seven Stories don’t understand that people pre-order specifically so they get the book on release day: they said they only dispatched some of them today. Whaaaaat. Anyway. Very sad about that but it means I won’t be reviewing it immediately.

      • Hey Ashers! says:

        Oh man, that’s awful. I’d be fidgeting by my mailbox until the book came; here’s hoping you have plenty of things to distract yourself with until it comes. Which better be ASAP, because come on guys, chop chop.

      • Miriam Joy says:

        Unfortunately, I have to go to work tomorrow, so the earliest I could possibly get it is when I get home tomorrow. And there’s no guarantee it’ll come tomorrow. It might be Thursday. OR FRIDAY. Whyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Leave a Reply

