Bonus: Bedtime Book Tag

SACRILEGE. It’s a non-review post on Miriam Joy Reads. What could possibly be the reason for this?

Well, I decided that even if I keep Mon-Weds-Fri as my review schedule, I’d occasionally do bonus posts on weekends. My friend Dan, who is the reason I remembered this blog existed, tagged me in the Bedtime Book Tag, and these are my responses.

  1. A Book That Kept You Up All Night

Misery by Stephen King. Well, I read too fast for anything to keep me up all night, but both times I read that I was up until 1am. The first time to know whether it worked out okay. The second to check the ending was still the same. It was. I’m comforted by this.

2.  A Book That Made You Scared To Sleep

seedSeed by Ania Ahlborn, but if you read my review of it yesterday, you already know that. Not only was I too freaked out to go to bed (I had to read something else to calm me down enough) but then I couldn’t get to sleep, either. FREAKY.

3. A Book That Made You Go To Sleep

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Look, I didn’t hate this book as much as I expected, but I still dropped off while reading it. I was on a course with the army at the time (long story) and sitting in a common room with a bunch of actual army people as well as my coursemates; needless to say this was a weird place to be (a) reading Jane Austen and (b) dozing off to it.

4. A Book That Left You Tossing and Turning All Night in Anticipation of its Release

You know, I really can’t think of any. I’m never up-to-date enough with new books! But I can anticipate a restless night ahead of The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater.

5. A Book That Has Your Dream Boyfriend (or girlfriend #NoH8)

ptolemy's gateWell, I’m not so much the relationship type, but I adore Kitty Jones from the Bartimaeus series by Jonathan Stroud. I think she’d be a pretty badass girlfriend, and she’s amazingly loyal. If I were to choose a guy… I don’t know. Maybe James Morgan from Ballad by Maggie Stiefvater? He cracks me up, but I imagine the bagpipes could get annoying.

6. A Book That Would Be Your Worst Nightmare To Live In

Just one? The kind of books I read don’t, on the whole, depict worlds that I’d enjoy if I was there myself. But one of them would be Shade’s Children by Garth Nix. Especially because if I went there now, I’d be dead, given my age.

7. A Book That Reminds You Of Night Time

night circusThe Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. No prizes for guessing why.

8. A Book That Had A Nightmarish Cliffhanger

Dark Days by Derek Landy (Skulduggery Pleasant #4). And I didn’t have the next one from the library yet, either. 😦

9. A Book You Actually Dreamed About

I dream about many books. Sometimes I dream I’m reading them and then when I wake up the actual plot is nothing like my dream plot, which always a slight disappointment. I can’t think of an individual book, though. Sad times.

10. A Book Monster You Wouldn’t Want To Find Under Your Bed

creature of the nightDuh, any of them. Particularly the fairy beast from Creature of the Night by Kate Thompson, though, or maybe one of Ronan’s nightmare creatures from The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater, unless he was there to deal with them. But jokes on you, because I have so much stuff under my bed that no monster could fit there. HA. I win.

I’m tagging Cait @ Paper Fury, even though she’s probably been tagged by ten thousand people already, because she’s an awesome book blogger. Of course, if any of my other readers want to take part, you’re welcome to do so — I haven’t had this blog up and running long enough to know many of you, so I don’t know who to tag. Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Bonus: Bedtime Book Tag

  1. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    Awk *blushes* YOU ARE SO NICE THO. And I hadn’t been tagged for this one!! And I’m dyyyying to do it so it’s going to the top of the to-do list (even though I’m a total insomniac and don’t sleep, heehe). Darn it, though, Miriam. I wanted a prize for guessing right for for #7.
    I LOVE JAMES TOO. I love all of Maggie Stiefvater’s characters but omg do they have emotional baggage and problems. I love them, but I’ll pat their shoulders with a long handled broom and that’ll be as close as we get. *nods*
    DEREK LANDY IS CRUEL ABOUT HIS CLIFFHANGERS. DARN IT DEREK LANDY, BE KIND TO US FOR ONCE WILL YA?
    Also…how have I not really ever been on this blog?!? I must change that!!

    • Miriam Joy says:

      HOW HAVE YOU NEVER BEEN HERE probably because I kind of only resurrected it two weeks ago? But yeah, you should fix that. 😉

      Oh yay! I have weird sleep patterns too, which means I read a lot at night… Being nocturnal in a house of normal people means nights are for quiet activities like reading, ha ha. Looking forward to seeing your responses. 🙂

Leave a Reply

